Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

Problems with link id

Quote Reply
Problems with link id
I am setting up a database and am having troubles when I try and click one of my indexed links. I get a message saying...

Error: Can't find link id: 3

How can I fix this?

Check it out for yourself at http://tln.lib.mi.us/~htwd/reference_desk/

Thanks!
Brent

Quote Reply
Re: Problems with link id In reply to
This should be discussed in the LINKS Installation Forum.

Anyway...the problem is that your url.db file is probably not being created. Make sure that you have a url.db file in your /data/ directory where your links.db file is located. Also make sure that the url.db file is set to 666 (rw-rw-rw-).

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
I do apologize for not posting my question in the right forum. I am new to this, and thus though the general discussion board would work just as well.

In answer to your suggestion, the permissions are all set correctly and the links.db and url.db files are in the correct folder. Something is still not working.

Brent

Quote Reply
What is the permission of your data directory? It should be 777 (drwxrwxrwx).

Are links and IDs being written in the url.db file? If not and IF the permissions are set correctly, then check the $db_url_name configurations in the links.cfg file.

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
I have changed the permission of the data directory to 777 (drwxrwxrwx) and it looks like the $db_url_name configurations in the links.cfg file are just fine. Could there be anything else wrong?

Quote Reply
Can't think of anything...except re-installing LINKS and setting the permissions again...and see what happens.

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
Before I do that, which would destroy a lot of my work so far... Have you heard of this happening before?

Quote Reply
Yes...and the permissions and links.cfg configurations were the problem. And it fixed the problem.