Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Databases and SQL :

purchase order

Quote Reply
purchase order
I have been trying to implement a database for an assignment. the problem comes in that we have been given a spec and told to design ELH etc...the tutor has looked at a particular ELh and given it the green light to implement. my question is to me it doesnt look right..any clues as to whether my design is correct or the supposed correct design or if their both wrong...etc..as u can see i'm a newbie here!!.so treat me gently.

secenario is a shoe shop ordering database, where suppliers supply many shoes but each shoe style is only made by 1 supplier.

supposed correct design:

Purchase_No, (PK)

Date,

Item Code,

Value,

Supplier ID.

Purchase_No. (PK/FK),

Stock_ID (PK/FK)

Size,

Quantity,

Line Value,

Supplier_ID, (PK)

Shoe Type,

Item Code,

Price,

Supplier Name,

Stock_ID, (PK)

Price,

Supplier ID,

Size,

Stock Level,

Description

links are 1:N supplier -purchases table

1:N stock to purchase line

M:1 purchase line to purchaes

MY design is as follows:

SupplierID (PK)

Name

Address

ShoeID (PK)

Description

Size

UnitCost

StockLevel

PurchaseNo (PK)

Date

TotalCost

PurchaseID (PK)

ShoeID(PK)

Quantity

IndividualShoe(PK)

SupplierID

ShoeID

tables linked as follows

purchases 1:N PurchaseLine

PurchaseLine M:1 individual shoe

Individulalshoe M:1 Supplier

IndividualShoe M:1 Shoe

Hope i'm not confusing you all...too much!

thanks in advance for any help
Quote Reply
Re: [topspeed007] purchase order In reply to
The "style" constraint is the thing that is probably most confusing.

I am curious as why you have two purchasing tables?

I believe you could use only one purchasing table containing all the purchase information connected with a CUSTOMERID. That is another element missing in your schema is who and where is the customer situtated in your scenario?

Who is the supplier ultimately selling their product to?