Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Installation -- Unix :

problems with the first start

Quote Reply
problems with the first start
Hello to everyone :-)!
i have a problem with the script, i can fully admin the script at the admin directory, but when i will see the normaly start site for users i get an error,
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /links/pages/ on this server.
i think i made the error, the start directory (users comes from other side) where is it? i have create www.das-surfbrett.de/links/pages/ i read it from the readme.txt and thought that are the start directory?!? i can add categoryīs and links but i donīt can see where they will add...
p.s. iīm german and sorry for my english, perhaps i maked errorīs in typing.
when you can help me my email is
oliver@das-surfbrett.de
Quote Reply
Re: problems with the first start In reply to
Hello Oliver:

I'm pretty new at this too...have you checked to see if your permissions are set in your Pages directory?

its looks like they are under you link directory /links/pages ?

try resetting your permissions on the "pages" directory to chmod 777 (rwxrwxrwx)

see it that helps!
Quote Reply
thx for reply :-)
i have checked the option, for chmod 777 at the directory links/pages/...but i get the same error, but another question... i have two files in that directory background.gif and links.css perhaps is that?...i have read the installation readme but there are nothing about that i mean i understand from the readme there must only two files...is that right?
oli

------------------
Quote Reply
Again, I'm new at this....

but inresponse to your ?....yes those files should be there...however, you may have to first try and create a catagory, a link, build your pages, then view your directory...maybe that will help..