Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

A Newbie with a question ..

Quote Reply
A Newbie with a question ..
Hi,

I'm new to links, seems like an awesome program. Especially cause Alex is letting us poor non profit guys use this fine program.

My question is regarding duplicate websites .. what happens if you are using a web spider and you are getting duplicate pages i.e ..
www.hypermart.com/index1.html, www.hypermart.com/index2.html, etc ...

How does links handle this ??
Should I go through the db file and manually take these out? Doesn't this screw up the numerical order of the "links".

Thanks ..

T
Quote Reply
Re: A Newbie with a question .. In reply to
Tawab.

I am not sure I follow what and how are you using the spider.

And do you mean links added are duplicated which can't happen because you would check for duplicate links when you validate in admin. Could you explain yourself a bit more and we may be able to help.

------------------
tassie
webmaster@scriptfarm.com
www.scriptfarm.com
Quote Reply
Perhaps I do not fully understand the overall "validation" of Links. I am using Innerprise Web Spider URL Pro to output links into a .db file, in the links.db file I see a lot of the same websites with different extensions (www.com/1.html,www.com/2.html), will Links do something to get rid of these duplicate sites ???

Thanks

Tawab
Quote Reply
No, Links will not do anything to get rid of those duplicate links. Links isn't designed to work with a spider that way. Links is designed for people to add links to it and for the webmaster/admin person to manually validate the links before adding them to links.db.