Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

Should I hire a Programmer?

Quote Reply
Should I hire a Programmer?
Hi all,
I am a newbie with cgi/perl scripts. Are the mods below things that I can tackle myself, or would I be best off hiring a programmer?
If I can do these myself, can you point me in the right direction?

I have fairly large links database organized in another application that will export tab delimited text.
I would like to be able to easily import and export my links database from the other program into links and visa versa (hopefully including categories and subcategories). I am wondering if this could be done by slightly altering the already available bulkload mod? The docs say bulkload is set up to require all the same fields as Links, which I guess includes the contact info and date info, so in its current state it probably won't work.
The fields in my current database are:

Title:
Url:
Description: (256 chars or less)

I would need the required database fields for Links 2 to be the same as my external links database, (eliminating date, contact and email).

Other changes I would like:

I do not want the date, hits, ratings etc (in the parenthesis after listings) to display next to each link, and I don't want users to rate the links.

I want the add and delete functions to be for admin only, and do not want the add and delete links to appear on the pages. I guess this may be as simple as moving these .cgi files into the admin directory and removing the links?

I would like to remove the cascading style sheets and just use standard old fashioned html for each individual page template.

I need to be able to list the same links in more than one category. If there is a function in links to avoid duplicate links I will need that turned off.

I would like to have the main category headings appear on every links page for easy navigating.

Guess that's all,
Thanks!
-V

[This message has been edited by V Silly (edited October 10, 1999).]