Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

Reviews Question

Quote Reply
Reviews Question
I'm new to the reviews in Links SQL, and am a little confused. Are the simple ratings from the Rate It link (1 - 10) separate from the review ratings Review It link (1 - 5)? It seems like they are, but I can't figure out why that would be. I was hoping that it would be possible to come up with an average rating for a specific link (averaging both the simple number ratings, and the review ratings) and then display that as an image (stars) on the link.html template, in addition to linking to the review page (i.e. domain.com/links/review.cgi?ID=25) showing all of the individual review information/stats, etc. on the reviews page. Does anyone know if that's even possible?

-Katy L.
Quote Reply
Re: [katy] Reviews Question In reply to
I do this on my site. However, it is not straightforward. It does involve editing the core code which you will need to redo everytime your Links version. If you still want to do this let me know and I'll try to find all the mods needed.

Laura.
The UK High Street
Quote Reply
Re: [afinlr] Reviews Question In reply to
Thanks very much for letting me know about this. I understand what you mean that core code would need to get modified (and re-modified for any new Links SQL versions). If you are able to post your mods here to make this work that would be wonderful.

--Katy L.
Quote Reply
Re: [katy] Reviews Question In reply to
I thought about this afterwards - I think you could do this without modifying the code if you keep the review ratings as 1 to 5 but I just thought this was a bit inconsistent. I wanted to make them all equivalent so I changed all the review ratings to 1 - 10.

To change these you need to:

1. Change the regex in the properties of the rating field for the Reviews table

^\d{1,2}$

2. In Review.pm change all the 5s to 10.

3. In Review.pm find this line and change the * to {1,2}

# Make sure we have a valid rating.