Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

please some suggestions about date,password and access

Quote Reply
please some suggestions about date,password and access
Hi,

I'm new at perl programming and I have 3 questions about dates, the password file
and direct access:

- Date problem
I finally was able to have the log file update with actual dates and not the 31-Dec-1999. To be homogeneous I modified JDP date translator so dates would be converted to
numbers under the d/m/y format. I added abbreviations to the original list so one could input for months 12, dec, december, décember but french months such as décember or août aren't recognized.
I think it is because of the accents.
How do I make DBman accept those accents and where should I add the code?

- Password
I noticed that when I create a new user the password file lists the user permissions
as 1 if on and empty if off ei username:encrypted pswrd:1:::: and not 1:0:0:0:0
How can I resolve this problem?
I also noticed that I couldn't simply modify a user, it creates a conflict with the password, I have to delete the older one and recreate a new one, is this the normal procedure?

-Direct access
I tried to create a bouton on a static page calling the short list all function of the short-long form.
If I use the uid=default it opens the list but I don't see the access in the log file, if I use a general user such as the one created in the above point, I'm told that the password timed out.
Is it possible to get someone with only the view permission to directly access the short list without going through the log on screen and being recorded in the log file?

Regards,
Eric
Quote Reply
Re: please some suggestions about date,password and access In reply to
1) Use escape character before the accented characters. Just put \ before the accented character.

2) Double check your authentication permissions. Set the $authentication variable to 1 NOT 0 to allow authentication to take place.