Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Two requests.....

Quote Reply
Two requests.....
Firstly I should say that this is the best support forum I have seen. Ever.

JPDeni, Alex, anyone.....

Request 1.
I need a subroutine to query the database so that when the user logs in, the home page will say something like " Welcome user_name, you have x number of validated records in the database." So basically the script will check the logged in user vs. the userid field and the validated field in all records and let the user know how many validated records he has.

Request 2.
I want to validate records being added by field values. If field 1=1 and field 2=1 then add the record, however if field 1=0 and field 2=1 then send the user to the failure screen with the appropriate message.

PS. I really admire the way this script is structured. It makes understanding it's functional areas relatively easy. I'm new to perl, but I think I've got a great launch pad with DBman and this forum.

Thanks Alex !!!
Quote Reply
Re: Two requests..... In reply to
The first thing would be accomplished in html_home.

Code:
$in{'UserID'} = $db_userid; # change "UserID" to the name of your user id field
$in{'Validated'} = "Yes"; # or whatever indicates a validated record
my ($status, @hits) = &query("view");
print "Welcome, $db_userid. You have $db_total_hits validated records in the database.";

With your second thing, you could add something to sub validate_record in db.cgi. After the duplicate key check -- it starts with

if ($in{'add_record'})

and ends with

close DB;
}

-- add

Code:
unless (($in{'field1'} == 1) && $in{'field2'} == 1)) {
push(@input_err, "[your error message]");
}

I agree that the structure of the code is superb. There is no way I could have learned so much Perl without such a wonderful example to show me how it should be done.

------------------
JPD

Quote Reply
JPDeni,

Thanks !!!