Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Entering Data Externally via links

(Page 1 of 2)
> >
Quote Reply
Entering Data Externally via links
Hi Everyone,

I have recently picked up a copy of DBman, installed it and am now playing around with it to try to get it to do all the hard work for me. I am very impressed with what i have discovered so far!! But i have a problem i need to be able to allow users to click on different links outside DBman and then this will enter different pieces of information into a field in the database. i.e. UK or USA. But as i am a newbie to Perl i don't have a clue how to do this.

I am using UNIX incase you need to know this inorder to help me. Any help will be gratefully recieved as i am a student intern in a large company who has no clue about this and they are all relying on me to get this to work.

Thankyou,
Elle

Quote Reply
Re: Entering Data Externally via links In reply to
First of all, in order to do this, you will have to allow default users to add records. You will not be able to require them to log in first.

Set up your link like

...db.cgi?db=database&uid=default&add_form=1&Field=value&field=value&field=value

You can have as many fields as you want, but the names *must* match your field names in your .cfg file exactly. The only exception to this is that, if you have a space in your field name, you must replace the space with a +.

So, if you had a field name called 'Home Country' you would use

&Home+Country=UK

Then, in sub html_record_form, after

my (%rec) = @_;

add

Code:
if ($in{'add_form'}) {
$rec{'field'} = $in{'field'};
}
Again, your field names must match the field names from your .cfg file exactly. This time, do not replace spaces with a +.

Add as many lines within the loop as you have fields you want to fill.

JPD
http://www.jpdeni.com/dbman/
Quote Reply
JPDeni,
Thankyou for your help it worked!! I'll probably be back with more questions later.

Elle

Quote Reply