Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Monthly report

Quote Reply
Monthly report
I work on company report. I'm a beginner in PERL/CGI.
I need to make a report with result by month and it increase on the next hits/page with next month and so on. This work also from month December to January, as a next year.
For information, I use date format mm/dd/yyyy
Can someone help ? I've search for posts, but did not find what I'm looking for. Frown

Quote Reply
Re: [lembono] Monthly report In reply to
Would you want to do a search on the "date" field and then sort results accordingly, or would you want to do a search on some other field and then sort by date?
kellner
Quote Reply
Re: [kellner] Monthly report In reply to
It has no relation with other field, I need to summaries what record available in current month in one page, last month in next page and so on.
So the record displayed depending on $db_max_hits.
Thank you.

Quote Reply
Ok. Next question: What format do you use for dates? It's necessary to know that for sorting. Is your date format "01-01-2001" or "01-Jan-2001"?
kellner
Quote Reply
Date format is 01/01/2001

Lembono
Quote Reply
OK, this is just a possible beginning; I got stuck in the middle and currently have no time to do some more, but perhaps someone else could jump in.

One question: Will all records have dates, or will there by records where the date fields are empty?

Basically, I thought to bypass search routines, directly open the db file - as we want to get *all* records anyway and sort them by date -, and read in date fields plus id fields (= database key fields). I don't think it's a good idea to do this through db_max_hits. You'd have to run through an entire search routine, searching for all records, and you'd *then* have to go through a whole new routine sorting them by month - apart from the fact that I really wouldn't know how to do the sorting and how to create the appropriate links on result pages.

sub sort_all_by_month {