Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

get_email problem

Quote Reply
get_email problem
Hi there,

I hope someone is able to help me with a small problem before I either pull all my hair out or finally take my frustration out on my poor PC.... I've searched through this form for a similar problem, but it seems that everyone else has a different problem with this sub than I. I'm a novice at perl, using this program as a "learn by example" because it does what I want it to do while explaining every single step so efficiently.

Anyway, the problem. I've put the basic Secure Password mod in and it works a dream. However, once I add the sub get_email, I start to get 500 Internal Server errors. In the cgi log it says:

Can't open perl script " ": No such file or directory

Is this an error with the script or with my cgi-bin/server?

Any ideas will be gratefully received. Thanks for taking the time to read this.
Quote Reply
Re: [Manawydan] get_email problem In reply to
I could be wrong but it doesn't sound like a an error with the script.

There is a snippet of code you can add to your files to get useful error messages.

This can be found in the FAQ (noted below) under the section "Troubleshooting" it's called:

Debugging - How To Obtain Useful Error Messages

You can put this at the top of all your DBMan files and it will really help you to track down any problems within the script.

Unoffical DBMan FAQ

http://creativecomputingweb.com/dbman/index.shtml/
Quote Reply
Re: [LoisC] get_email problem In reply to
Hi LoisC,

Thanks for the direction - I've put the lines into the db.cgi at the place advised and created the error.txt file. However, I get the 500 Internal error but the error.txt file is still empty. I've check permissions and the location of the text file and they should be fine but the text file stays empty.

Am I doing something incredibly stupid here?

Thanks again for the help.
Quote Reply