Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Configurator

Quote Reply
Configurator
I tried JPD's Configurator and it worked really good for me while viewing with IE4. Then I looked at it with Netscape and found
it has trouble using the "list-all' function.
Error reads:
"Search Failed. There were problems with the search. Reason: no search terms specified "
If I use the wildcard in the "search form" everything is fine.

IE4 works fine and will list everything.
I understand Netscape is more critical than IE4 concerning HTML, I just can not seem to find the error I caused.

I can only imagine the work involved in the creation of the "configurator" I hope this post does not sound like I'm complaining
about it. I am a novice at this cgi/pearl stuff and I really appreciate all the hard work and time all of you put in to help people like me!

Best Regards,
John
Quote Reply
Re: Configurator In reply to
Here is where I put the scripts if anyone would like to view for trouble shooting.

http://www.a1med.com/help/html_pl.txt html.pl created by Configurator

http://www.a1med.com/help/default.cfg default.cfg created by Configurator

http://www.a1med.com/help/html.txt how I put the "record" stuff within the html.pl
Quote Reply
You might be able to say it is a problem with the configurator. Maybe I should figure out some way to change this, but I'm not sure how.

The problem is that you have a space in the name of your $db_key field. When you do a search from a link, it ends up with

&Product ID=*

Netscape gets very upset with thing like that and just ignores everything that follows the space.

My suggestion is that you rename your field to either ProductID or Product_ID. Make the change in both your .cfg file -- in the %db_def section and in the $db_key definition -- and in html.pl -- in both of the subroutines.