Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

CGI - Just stopped working??!

Quote Reply
CGI - Just stopped working??!
I wonder if anyone can help me...

We run CGI scripts on our UNIX server. One in particular allows a user to enter date which is then emailed to a recipient on 'Send'. These forms work correctly 99% but occassionally the recipient stops getting emails - or they're delayed. The CGI 'appears' to be functioning correctly though as it still takes you to the confirmation page.

We have always assumed this was a problem with the server but our Server Administrator claims it is a problem with the CGI.

Does CGI just stop working though? I don't understand how it can process correctly one minute and then fail the next. What could cause this?

Any help would be appreciated... bear in mind I'm not that technical. Wink

Last edited by:

WA: Aug 2, 2005, 6:32 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [WA] CGI - Just stopped working??! In reply to
Hi,

It sounds more like its being put in your queue file, and just takes a little while to come through.

As you said, if it works one time.. then it should work the rest. One other option, is that your mailing program (i.e sendmail) is crashing for whatever reason, and thus it thinks the email was sent, but in fact it wasn't).

Hope that helps :)

Cheers

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package | GLinks ULTRA Package PRO
Links SQL Plugins | Website Design and SEO | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Quote Reply
Re: [Andy] CGI - Just stopped working??! In reply to
Thanks Andy.

I always thought it was a problem with sendmail as we'd report the program and the server guy would do his thing (???) and then the mails would start coming through.