Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Installation -- Unix :

Unable to copy links backup. Reason: Permission denied

Quote Reply
Unable to copy links backup. Reason: Permission denied
Hi,
This is my first time installing links!! So far I managed to get most of the things to work but When I click on the build pages option this is the error message I am getting:
Backing up database . . .
Backing up links, category and email database (File::Copy) ...

CGI ERROR
==========================================
Error Message : Unable to copy links backup. Reason: Permission denied
Script Location : /path_to/links/cgi-bin/admin/nph-build.cgi
Perl Version : 5.00404

I understand the problem is to do with the permission but what I don't understand is how to set permission for a DIRECTORY using WS_FTPLE(I have set permission for individual files before). Anyways, I CHMOD 755 for nph-build.cgi file and I also set full path to link.cfg file in the require line of nph-build.cgi file. Still, it gives me the above error!! Can some one please help me!! I really want to setup this awesome program on my dream site.
Quote Reply
Re: Unable to copy links backup. Reason: Permission denied In reply to
Bring up the admin directory in WS_FTP. Click on the backup directory (just a single click to highlight it). The right-click on it and select CHMOD from the drop-down list. When the chmod window opens, make sure there is a checkmark in all checkboxes (that is chmod 777) and click OK. Then go into the data directory and make sure all the files in it, particularly links.db, are all chmod 666 (read, write). Once that is done, try rebuilding the pages again.

I hope this helps.
Quote Reply
Hi Bobsie,