Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

Building Times Out :c(

Quote Reply
Building Times Out :c(
I have spent the last 5 hours of my night adding links to my one category. I have read all the posts on this forum before attempting to resolve my problem.

I have 264 links in my one category is that too many?
I know you have said in other posts that 683 or something like that was way too many...so how many is too many? lol

34 links worked fine and I didnt realize that this would happen. It took me soo long to do this and now what do I do to get it to build the pages? I have used Telnet in the past but i'm not good with it at all. I wouldnt know what command to use or anything. And it would take me forever to create another category and split the links up. Anything I can do here?

:c)
Thanks

Quote Reply
Re: Building Times Out :c( In reply to
Ok I got 93 links now working in the same category.

I tried 150 but that wouldnt work :c(

I need to get all 264 or find a way to be able to alphabetically organize the links in the 3 new subcategories I would have to create.

Quote Reply
Solutions:

a) build via telnet. Telnet into your host. cd (change directory) to navigate to your links/admin directory. Then typing perl nph-build.cgi should do the trick.

b) ask your host to increase the time the script is allowed to run via the browser. They may or may not be willing to increase this for you. (The max number of links per category varies depending on host hardware and equally important, their setup.)

c) break it up manually or create the new categories, download the links.db, sort it by the title with a database program, break that up into the three alphabetical ranges (temporarily) and do a find and replace on the category to change the main category to the new alphabetical categories. Then put together the links.db again, reupload, and everything will be in the correct categories.

Remember ALWAYS BACKUP before making changes :)

Quote Reply