Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Customization :

Can someone see what's wrong with this code?

Quote Reply
Can someone see what's wrong with this code?
I hope someone can help me with this... I am trying to create a tag in the home.html to show the number of links in the top categories. I think the problem is in how I am trying to pass the category name to the subroutine, but I am not a programmer so I am not sure. (I am trying to learn however.) What I am wanting to do is simply place a line like "There are XXX links in the Topcategoryname1 category." for selected categories. I am not getting any errors, I'm not even getting Unknown Tag: <%cat1count%>, so I must be somewhat close. If someone could take a look and advise, I would appreciate it greatly. I got the code from another thread in this forum, it is not mine.

Charlie

I am calling the tags in home.html with <%cat1count%>, <%cat2count%>, <%cat3count%>.

Below is what I added (changed) in the sub in site_html_templates.pl:

sub site_html_home {
# --------------------------------------------------------
# This routine will build a home page. It is not meant to have any
# links on it, only subcategories.
### Added lines
$cat1count => &category_link_count ('Topcategoryname1');
$cat2count => &category_link_count ('Topcategoryname2');
$cat3count => &category_link_count ('Topcategoryname3');
### Added lines
return &load_template ('home.html', {
category => $category,
grand_total => $grand_total,
### Added lines
cat1count => $cat1count,
cat2count => $cat2count,
cat3count => $cat3count,
### Added lines
%globals
});
}

Below is the subroutine I added and tried to adapt from another thread at the bottom of site_html_templates.pl:

### Added subroutine
sub category_link_count {
# --------------------------------------------------------
# It finds out how many links are in current category
my $this_cat = @_[0];
my (@values, $category, $subtotal);
my $subtotal = 0;