Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

<%category%>????????????

Quote Reply
<%category%>????????????
Hi,
I posted several question in the location of:asking about using twoo languages dealing for Links SQL 2. I was advised to translate templates and group them into two 2 groups English and Arabic. It works and I duplicated page.cgi and SiteHTML.pm to let each on deal with diffrent field in the category table. I inserted new fields called namea and Full_Namea for arabic categories. The problem now that the drop down menus in add and modify pages still deal with english categories (english fields). I saw the following expression <%category%> and I could not understand how it can read from the english fields and I let it read from the arabic field for the arabic templates.
Can anybody help me in descriping these tags <%category%>, <%description%>, ...etc? Sorry I'm still a newbie.
thank you for your help.

[:P]
wewe
Quote Reply
Re: [wewe] <%category%>???????????? In reply to
Ok,

This is a little tricky, because of the way the generated category list uses the <%category%> variable.

What you might need to do, is make a <%category_arabic%> tag, and then duplicate the category drop-down routines at the bottom of the various scripts (add/modify)

I've hacked the category routines a few times to do different things, but it's really a "hack" and I think that is what you'll have to do, create a hack.

The <%category%> tag uses the standard category routines and fields, but the <%category_arabic%> uses the arabic category routines which pass the arabic fields in, rather than the english ones.

FWIW, I think the way the <%category%> tags are used and generated in the templates is quite possibly the most complicated user-interface item in Links SQL. It takes a little patience to understand how it's being passed in, modified, and returned.

PUGDOG� Enterprises, Inc.

The best way to contact me is to NOT use Email.
Please leave a PM here.
Quote Reply