Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

Quick MySQL DELETE syntax check >>

Quote Reply
Quick MySQL DELETE syntax check >>
Hey All,

I just wanted to quickly check to see if this MySQL syntax was correct for what I'm trying to do...

At one point while adding links I had several columns set with a default value. (EX. 0.00, http://) Later I found I shouldn't have been adding these default values. What I would like to do is find and delete all of these default values that still remain in my database while leaving the rest.

Is this the correct syntax to delete the default of 0.00 while leaving added values like 49.99???

DELETE FROM lsql_Links
WHERE price = '0.00'

Looks like it should work but I'm not to familiar with MySql commands.

Thanks a lot!
Quote Reply
Re: [Jonze] Quick MySQL DELETE syntax check >> In reply to
Hope it's not too late!

As far as I am aware (I'm not a SQL expert) this will delete the links (i.e. the whole record) where the price is '0.00'. I think you want an update - something like this:

UPDATE Links SET price = '' WHERE price = '0.00'
Quote Reply
Re: [afinlr] Quick MySQL DELETE syntax check >> In reply to
Well, maybe just a little late to save me from that one, but thanks just the same! LOL

I got impatient and when ahead and gave it a go. Just like you said, that query wiped out almost my entire Links Table. Fortunatly I had did a SQL Dump and was quickly able to restore everything back to normal. Crazy

That just helped me decided it's about time to buy a book on MySQL.

Thanks for that UPDATE query! I'll go look up the online MySQL manual and give it a try. Whatever I try I can't do any worse than deleting it all like I just did.

Thanks again, I'm sure that update query will do the trick.
Quote Reply
Using the query below works fine when removing 'http://' :

UPDATE lsql_Links SET offer_url = '' WHERE offer_url = 'http://'

I just can't seem to get it to UPDATE to remove any of the '0.00' of type FLOAT