Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

NEWBIE - LOST - BUY BOOKS

Quote Reply
NEWBIE - LOST - BUY BOOKS
Hello Forum:

I just moved up from Links 2.0 to Links SQL (http://www.indylinks.com/)

I'm not a programmer, but I've been able to customize lots of cgi/perl scripts (Selena Sol, Matt's Script Archive, etc.), but I'm LOST with Links SQL.

I just spent about two hours trying to decide which books to buy at Amazon. I've looked at MYsql, Mysql and Perl for the Web by Paul DuBois. The back covers were a bit intimidating.

I just want to learn how to use Links SQL 2.1.0 to the point of:

a. being able to add a new page to the template area (something like a page that lists all categories and subcategories -- I'm getting nowhere with trial and error.)

b. being able to import/append additional links from a Links 2.0 type database.

I'm also frustrated because I've only gotten one of the globals from the GT resources area to work (top_cats). Can't even get the Priority Link Mod to work. Not that I'm giving up.

Anybody got any advice on where I should dive in?

I've read and printed out the whole online manual (I've got v. 2.0.5 and I can't find the once for 2.1.0) and most of the help pages embedded in the admin area. I've been to the Mysql web site.

I'm overwhelmed!Frown

Thanks in advance for your help.

April

guider@guider.com

P.S. I've gotten some WONDERFUL help from Paul Wilson . . . but I just can't keep bugging him. I've got learn it myself.
Quote Reply
Re: [aprillougheed] NEWBIE - LOST - BUY BOOKS In reply to
These are the books I've used (in addition to the on-line help you mentioned)

http://thepugdocs.com/cgi-bin/LinkSQL/page.cgi?g=Books___References_I_have_found_useful%2Findex.html&d=1

I've gotten all these over the past 2-3 years. I added a new qMail book and a couple of Linux books to this recently, but it's still the list I turn to when i have a problem.

PUGDOG� Enterprises, Inc.