Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

MySQL Privileges ?

Quote Reply
MySQL Privileges ?
Hi, a total novice here so bare with me.
I have just got to the stage of running the LINKS SQL SQL Information set up and am getting the following error:

"Error: Could not connect to database. Reason: Access denied for user: 'donald@localhost' (Using password: YES)"

My hosts have definately set up the MYSQL facility and pass and database name are correct. Now from another post I gather that the problem could be the user privilages !?
I have managed to telnet into Mysql on my server
and currently have a Mysql> _ cursor.
Could someone please tell me what I need to key to get rid of the above error (exact syntax please)
I am new to Mysql and now a bit lost.

Thanks

Quote Reply
Re: [Hamilton] MySQL Privileges ? In reply to
Hello,
You need to know your correct username and password port and hostname and you will be able to login. Might be one of the following:
Your hostname may not be localhost, might be ip address or domain name.
Your username may not have the correct permissions.
Mysql is using another port besides 3306
Password is case sensitive. It happened to me not long ago when I found out my shift key wasn't working on my keyboad. Had food in it. Crazy things happen.

Hope this helps.
Smile

Quote Reply
Did you log on to the database with

'donald@localhost'

as your user name, or did you get the Mysql> cursor without entering an ID and PW?

PUGDOG� Enterprises, Inc.

The best way to contact me is to NOT use Email.
Please leave a PM here.
Quote Reply
Re: [pugdog] MySQL Privileges ? In reply to
No, it did not ask for any User or pass just got the Mysql cursor.
Quote Reply
Hi,

Quote:
I have managed to telnet into Mysql on my server
and currently have a Mysql> _ cursor.