Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

Duplicate Listing Removal from Search Results Suggestion

Quote Reply
Duplicate Listing Removal from Search Results Suggestion
Hi All,

I am new to LinksSQL but I already love it. Been programming in PERL for a while but on this project decided to buy instead of build and I have to say I am not sorry.

I am allowing multiple listings of the same URL in different categories but I don't want a matching keyword search to report that URL more than once. I am familiar with modifying the directory using global subs but think I may need a plugin for this one.

My initial thought was to create a search_results plugin that would take the output and for each link do something like this with a %seen variable:

defined $seen{URL} ? ($seen{URL} += 1) : ($seen{URL} = 1);

After this command if the value is >1 then just move on, dont print results. The reason for incrementing the value is so that I can adjust links_hits accordingly before printing results.

Does this sound like the best way to do this? I looked into link_results_loop in search_results.html but I don't think I can do everything I want there. Any feedback is appreciated.

Jason
Quote Reply
Re: [shunsoft] Duplicate Listing Removal from Search Results Suggestion In reply to
Yeah...your best bet would be to add a search_results POST hook, and then grab $SEARCHED and edit it as to your needs. The main problem is going to be getting even numbers per page. Simply modifying $SEARCHED will probably give uneven numbers. Also, when going onto the next page it would be hard not to get duplicate links to show up again...

Anyway, just throwing a few ideas into your head Smile

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package | GLinks ULTRA Package PRO
Links SQL Plugins | Website Design and SEO | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!