Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Development, Plugins and Globals :

Plugins vs hackz - the story continous ...

Quote Reply
Plugins vs hackz - the story continous ...
Hi all,
siting at the new links since some hours i have again started to hack the code to my needs;
nothing special, im no programer at all, but simple things to improve the functionality.
For example: Different detailed + link.html for each category and/or each link;
different add-forms for different cats; the same to add_success and errors while adding;
the next would be the modify ...
The same to different email-templates for each cat.
Todos now:
- different mails to chosse while validating
- and very important second tables for the links;
imagine a field in links-table where u choose an aditional table for some special fields.
Example: you have pets and cars, but you need age and color for the cars, but height and weight for the pets;
till now i add any field i need to the links-table; but especially for one cat, i need 20 additional fields, so i must have a real big field-list; the better way seems to have only the needed fields for all links and to say in which additional table the other fields are.

I write this to see, if someone would or could program my mods to plugins; i dont need it (while the upgrade problem stays); but maybe some others would enjoy these hackz in form of plugins.

My english is not the best and if i could find someone in germany, especially around cologne, fine. But i will try my best to talk to every other, too.

Robert
Quote Reply
Re: [Robert] Plugins vs hackz - the story continous ... In reply to
Hi,

The multiple emails for admin validation -- is a pet peve of mine, and is now on my list of things to hit since 2.1 stable is out, and I'm assuming the only changes that will be "tweaks" to make it work with gossamer community for the next few months at least. I'm sure Gossamer COmmunity is now the main thrust at GT.