Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan SQL : Discussion :

oracle installation problems

Quote Reply
oracle installation problems
I'm new to Oracle, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I'm having installation problems with DbMan SQL on an Oracle server.

With other scripts, it's enough for me to specify "localhost" as server, and user and pw for the oracle db in order to make a connection to the database.

Trying to install DbMan SQL, however, I get the following error:

GT::SQL::Table (159630): The environment variable ORACLE_HOME is not defined. It must be defined for the script to connect properly. at /u/www/istb/cgi-bin/dbmansql/admin/GT/SQL.pm line 199."

If I open SQL.pm and add the environment variable manually, I get the following error message:

"Error: Could not connect to database. Reason: Can't connect using this syntax without specifying a HOST and a SID."

As I said, I'm new to Oracle, and simply don't know what kind of information the script is expecting; nor do there seem to be any fields on the initial setup form which would allow to specify any such data.

Many thanks in advance,

kellner
Quote Reply
Re: [kellner] oracle installation problems In reply to
Hi,

Add:

SetEnv ORACLE_HOME /path/to/orahome

in your httpd.conf. This allows you to connect with any perl script using DBI.

And replace admin/Dbsql/SQL.pm on your server with the attached file.

TheStone.

B.

Last edited by:

TheStone: Aug 6, 2002, 3:03 PM
Quote Reply
Re: [TheStone] oracle installation problems In reply to
Thanks for the reply; I guess the environment variable can also be defined in a .htaccess-file (I don't have permissions to edit httpd.conf on the server).

Also, am I missing something or is there actually, er, no attached file to this post?

Best regards,
kellner
Quote Reply
oops,... here is the attached file

B.
Quote Reply
Thanks. I followed your directions, but the second error still persists: