Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

other than comma separator for multi-select field

Quote Reply
other than comma separator for multi-select field
hi! im working on making a database to help me keep track of new words i learn. a vocabulary database. so im categorizing each word with associated roots like:

word ---> root
ambidextrous ---> AMB/AMPH (both, more than one)

but when i enter this thing in default.cfg like so
Quote:
# Select fields. Field name => 'comma seperated list of drop down options'.
%db_select_fields = (
etymofam => 'A (without),AB/ABS (off, away from, apart, down),AMB/AMPH (both, more than one)',
);

im getting options like this within the text box:

Quote:

A (without)
AB/ABS (off
away from
apart
down
AMB/AMPH (both
more than one

im a newbie, its amazing i got so far as to customize the looks and configure the script up man...i have no clue what to do...blank really. i hope the colorful demonstration helped? gots any ideas?

thanks

Quote Reply
Re: [ragnar] other than comma separator for multi-select field In reply to
The easiest solution would be to define the field without the extra commas such as using dashes instead, for example:

etymofam => 'A (without),AB/ABS (off-away from- apart - down),AMB/AMPH (both - more than one)',

You might also want to consider using the sub build_select_option_field mod. This would allow you to store just the

A,AB/ABS, and AMB/AMPH within the db file but display the full description in the display.

Check out this thead http://www.gossamer-threads.com/...orum.cgi?post=116995

Unoffical DBMan FAQ

http://creativecomputingweb.com/dbman/index.shtml/
Quote Reply
Re: [LoisC] other than comma separator for multi-select field In reply to
yeah i kinda knew about that... im trying to avoid that way coz there are just too many "root" entries to edit and delete all the commas...