Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

db key cause for modify problem?

Quote Reply
db key cause for modify problem?
I am having problems with Feilds 0 and 1.
Feild 0 is the name of person which they input AND is also the key. The problem is that the name also goes into feild 1.

Should the Key be its own field? Is the key causing the problem here?

I posted my source code on the feilds and someone mentioned everything else looks good.
That is why I am looking at key field. This feild is also mandatory to input.

I also noticed that if I log in as an admin, I can modify feild 1 and it stays..i think.

Not sure what to do. I have gone through html_record and html_record_form and made sure the field names match and the amount of them. I will go over them again in more detail. (There are 46 fields total.)

Quote Reply
Re: db key cause for modify problem? In reply to
In addition to my previous question, is there a limit to the length of a field name?

This is not a way to spend a friday evening! This was due to my boss earlier today. Did not happen! :-) or is that :-(
Quote Reply
Ok, what it is doing is putting the person's login name into field 1 which is PROGRAM
Quote Reply
tm,

Preferrably, the ID should be its own record. Everything should be its own record, actually. If for no other reason than it makes it easier to use. Smile So in this example, field 0 (most ideally) should be the ID, and 1 should be their name.

You also wouldn't want to use a person's name as a record ID, as each record has to have its own unique ID.

Hope that helps, guy!

--Lee
Quote Reply
I have created a separate ID field like the demo originally had.

It didn't solve the problem but made me realize what is happening.

DBman is putting the login username into field 1. I changed the name of field 1 incase i was using a name that conflicts with program variables, but it still does that.

Anyone know how to deal with this one?
Quote Reply

Quote: