Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

create account using email address as userid

Quote Reply
create account using email address as userid
Hi
I am a novice and so far i have done well with customising dbman, but I want people to use their email address as the user ID, to allow this I have added \.\@\-\_ and changed the amount of characters from 12 to 40 in the db.cgi

but when you get to the main menu and click on any of the following add, view, delete, modify, list all i get

Error: Unauthorized Action

The database program received a command that you are not authorized for.

the permissions are View Add Delete and Modify

What have I missed or why will it not work, If the person uses anything but an email address it works I have listed what I have changed in the db.cgi

In the sub main

elsif ($in{'logoff'}) { &auth_logging('logged off') if ($auth_logging); (-e "$auth_dir/$db_uid") and ($db_uid =~ /^[\A-Za-z0-9\.\@\-\_]+\.\d+$/) and unlink ("$auth_dir/$db_uid");

# Set the script link URL with db and user info for links. Use $db_script_url for forms.
$db_script_link_url = "$db_script_url?db=$db_setup&uid=$db_uid";
if ($uid eq "default") { $db_userid = $uid; }
else { ($db_userid) = $db_uid =~ /([A-Za-z0-9\.\@\-\_]+)\.\d+/; }

In the sub admin_display

$in{'new_username'} and do {
unless ((length($in{'new_username'}) >= 3) and (length($in{'new_username'}) <= 40) and ($in{'new_username'} =~ /^[a-zA-Z0-9\.\@\-\_]+$/)) {
$message = "Invalid username: $in{'new_username'}. Must only contain letters and numbers and be less then 40 and greater then 3 characters.";
last CASE;

In the sub signup

unless ((length($in{'userid'}) >= 3) and (length($in{'userid'}) <= 40) and ($in{'userid'} =~ /^[a-zA-Z0-9\.\@\-\_]+$/)) {
$message = "Invalid userid: $in{'userid'}. Must only contain only letters and be less then 40 and greater then 3 characters.";

Quote Reply
Re: create account using email address as userid In reply to