Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Print certain fields once then table of matching records

Quote Reply
Print certain fields once then table of matching records
Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me with my problem or point me to a mod that can assist.

I have been using DBman for several years now utilising it in a variety of funtions by modifying code or applying mods. However I am now stumped with the current situation.

I have some delimited files that are created from a COBOL program running against IDMS on our mainframe and ftp'd to a network drive, from there I read it with DBman to produce various outputs.

I have successfully produced all required outputs bar one. I need to produce a report in the following style:-

STConame......................BTConame
STAddress.......................BTAddress
STAddress1.....................BTAddress2
STCity............................BTCity

STUID.............................BTUID

ProdID | ProdDesc | Amount | InvNbr | UID| etc | etc

The data file is in the following format:-

STConame ; STAddress; STConame; BTAddress; ProdID; ProdDesc; Amount; InvNbr; UID; etc; etc; etc; (goes on for 52 columns)

So I need to search on BTConame or STConame, print out BTConame/Address and STConame/ Address once (although it exists in all records) and then print out a table of records that contain the matching BTConame or STConame.

I am able to print the table but cant figure out how to print the Name and Address just the once.

Hope someone can help

Peter
Quote Reply
Re: [pwojcik] Print certain fields once then table of matching records In reply to
Poke around in this forum, and also check the 'unofficial FAQ' (see any of LoisC's responses for the URL) there is a MOD you want, but I cannot remember what it is called.... Someone was asking about this recently, it prints "headers" once and then "details" - I'm pretty sure this is what you are looking for. This is what we used to refer to as "grouping" in foxfire.