Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

One of those problems that only Carol can answer?

Quote Reply
One of those problems that only Carol can answer?
I'd like to change in some way the structure of DBMan. I'd like to add a password field to each record and make people use this password when they want to modify the record or delete it. I know, obviously, that I have to add a password field in the cfg file. I am a bit lost about what I should do to allow people to modify and delete the record. I'd like to have a link that would take people to a screen that asks for ID and password, that compares that password with the one saved in the DB (I wouldn't encrypt the password) and then if the password matches let them modify or delete the record (that choice could be present in the screen, for example with a radio button). I am asking for a little help with the code. I don't know if a new subroutine should be added. I am not an expert in Perl, but I think that many would benefit from this modification of the code. Thanks in advance.
Quote Reply
Re: One of those problems that only Carol can answer? In reply to
Is there a reason that you can't just use the regular login routine? (There must be, or you wouldn't be asking. Smile )

Hmmmmmmm. This may take some "ponder" time.

So you want the password to be associated with the record and not the person, right? Will the users be logging in before they try to modify the record? Would one user be able to modify records that had different passwords?

For example, you might have several records with a password of "rover" and other records with a password of "fido." Would I, as a user possibly have the ability to modify both the "rover" and the "fido" records, or just one of them? And would I be using my "JPDeni" username to log in first, or would I be a default user?

I'm assuming the users wouldn't "own" the records, right?