Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Alphabetic listing

Quote Reply
Alphabetic listing
Hello All,

I am new to DBMan but I have it setup and running. I am interested in being able to display quick links to each of the letters of the alphabet which when clicked on would take the user to the set of records beginning with that letter as specified by field which in this case is Title.

I did a search on "alphabet" in this forum and found a very relavent link :
www.gossamer-threads.com/scripts/forum/resources/Forum12/HTML/001234.html

A gentleman named Eliot provided codes which I thought would do exactly what I wanted - he also provided example links which displayed exactly what I wanted. I tried following the directions explicitly but unfortunately I am unable to get it to work. Obviously I have messed something up.

I have gathered from other posts, that when requesting help it is good to provide access to pertinent files so here they are :
default.cfg - www.webmerchantsoftware.com/default.cfg.txt

html.pl - www.webmerchantsoftware.com/html.pl.txt

Test the database - www.webmerchantsoftware.com/cgi-bin/dbman/db.cgi

The basic problem as you will see is that no links to the letters of the alphabet ever get printed out. Any assistance or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

------------------
Easy does it,
Bear

[This message has been edited by Bearwithme (edited May 07, 2000).]

Quote Reply
Re: Alphabetic listing In reply to
Bear,

What I would think about doing is create an admin-only hidden field...in this field you'd simple enter a letter...a-z...then you could setup links as a default user to search based on the contents of that field...that MIGHT do the trick.

Chris

[This message has been edited by TWTCommish (edited May 07, 2000).]
Quote Reply
Very good! Someone who actually reads the forum!!!! Smile

I looked at your html.pl file, but I didn't see the code for the alphabetical listing. What file did you put it in?