Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Adding records from "public" form to secure server

Quote Reply
Adding records from "public" form to secure server
I just downloaded DBMan, so forgive me if this is too "newbie" of a question: I'd like to add DBMan to an existing website which consists of 2 "webs". The externally viewable "public web" that anyone can see and a "private web" that is protected through .htaccess. What I want to do is this:
Capture data from the "public web" (product interest, request for more info, etc.), but only have the data viewable/modifiable from the "private web"

I like the idea that the .htaccess login is used by DBMan to login to the database, which is perfect for the "private web"..... but if I put db.cgi in the "private web" then the "public web's" add record form won't be able to see it (without logging on). The only thing I can think of (remember..I'm a newbie) is to have 2 db.cgi's (1 in the private web and 1 in the public), both working with the same database. Is this possible...or better yet...is there a better way to accomplish this?

Thanks in advance...
Wayne

Quote Reply
Re: Adding records from "public" form to secure server In reply to
In Reply To:

I like the idea that the .htaccess login is used by DBMan to login to the database, which is perfect for the "private web".....

Don't know what version you are using, but this is not available in most, if not all, versions of DBMAN. Wink

I would recommend using built-in AUTHENTICATION permissions found in the default.cfg file...read the permissions tutorials at http://www.jpdeni.com/dbman/.

I would recommend not using .htaccess...use the built-in login features of DBMAN.

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
Thanks for the quick reply. This forum rocks! Ok...now I'm really confused. In a reply to the thread "Server authentication passing uid to dbman?", Alex states that: