Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

mod_perl

Quote Reply
mod_perl
I've just got a script I've written to work with mod_perl and it is pretty rapid.

I was just looking for any pointers and things I need to watch out for when using mod_perl

I notice Links SQL etc use reset_env methods....are these essential?....I don't do any resetting at the moment and it seems to work ok but what if anything should I be resetting?

I have a DESTROY method in some of my modules to destroy database handles and objects etc...

Any tips would be great thanks.

Last edited by:

Paul: Jun 12, 2002, 3:07 AM
Quote Reply
Re: [Paul] mod_perl In reply to
I'm not an expert, but I find http://perl.apache.org/#docs quite useful, especially the mod_perl guide located at http://perl.apache.org/guide/

Ivan
-----
Iyengar Yoga Resources / GT Plugins
Quote Reply
I've found the mod_perl CGI FAQ to be a good starting point, too:

http://perl.apache.org/faq/mod_perl_cgi.html

But if I were you I'd go out and buy myself a decent book (or whatever else your favorite method lf learning is) first before you sit down and hack away. Writing for mod_perl requires understanding of some other things, like memory management and the Apache process model. With mod_perl it's quite easy to create some scripts with bad memory_leakage.

Saying this, I consider yourself to be a fairly competent programmer, and I know that you run most of your scripts under use script. And, in my opinion, only under mod_perl one really sees the beauty of using use strict. As the biggest problem is memory leakage of people not destroying their global variables. If you're running, and understand the concepts of use strict, then this shouldn't byte you in the ass, and you should really be fine with creating private variables that do not go walkies into your global package and never get destroyed.

Be very careful with your global variables, and treat them like the plague and you shouldn't have any problems.

- wil