Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Software to Build Site with database & Templates

Quote Reply
Software to Build Site with database & Templates
Does any body know of a program that allows you to build a website from templates with integration with a database?

I'll explain exactly what I want to do:

For my news section I want to be able to keep the main text of my articles in html (this is so that I can have hyperlinks) in a database, either mySQL or flatfile.

Then I create my templates for my different sections and put a tag/script/whatever I need to do to, so that my main body can be inserted as well as wherever else I want to put in such as header/footers with ssi's.

Then, I press build and I get my whole site built. This way I have static pages for indexing and faster user access then dynamically building all the content.

The program/cgi/perl script should run on Linux.

I am a complete beginner so anything should be explained using the KISS* system pretty please.

*keep it simple stupid Smile

Quote Reply
Re: Software to Build Site with database & Templates In reply to
Why not just create a generic page top and page bottom and plug them in with SSI. I've been doing exactly what you would like to do on my site for a couple years now. You can easily have different templates for if you like, just refer to it in the SSI command. So it would looks something like this:

<!--#include virtual="/page-top.html"-->

some contents here...

<!--#include virtual="/page-bottom.html"-->

Simple as that. You have to rename your "html" files to "shtml" but that shouldn't be a prob.

Hope that helps out.

------------------
Jason
Extreme mtb
http://extreme.nas.net
Quote Reply
Using SSI is a great way to structure a site for quick updates. Utilizing structered directories related to month, day, year is helpful as well. As for searching there are plenty of free site indexing solutions to search your site.