Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

SQL Stuff

Quote Reply
SQL Stuff
ok.. Here is what i am trying to do with an mySQL table.
I want to get a random row number from the table but also from only certian rows (example: Males only)
Here is what i have done...

I can get the random number from this after i have used COUNT(*) in a previous query..

my $number = int rand $total;
my $query = ("SELECT * FROM people LIMIT $number,1");

But here is what i want to do... ( this does not work, any ideas on how to write this to make it work ?)

my $query = ("SELECT * FROM people WHERE gender = 'Male' LIMIT $number,1");

I am just learning how to use a mySQL database in programs and need all the help i can get. Anyone know of any good online resources to learn? I have seen a lot of articles etc... out there but they are all basic on how to use SELECT DELETE UPDATE etc....
I know i need to know more than this...

Thanks

Quote Reply
Re: SQL Stuff In reply to
try something like this:

Code:
select * from people where gender = 'MALE' order by rand() limit 1;
-g

s/(\d{2})/chr($1)/ge + print if $_ = '8284703280698276687967';
Quote Reply
You can and should use order by rand() if you are using MySQL 3.23+, however if you are still using 3.22, you need to do it in two queries:

1. SELECT COUNT(*) FROM people WHERE gender = 'Male'

Then get the results in $total.

2. SELECT * FROM people WHERE gender = 'Male' LIMIT $total, 1

To get a random male.

Cheers,

Alex

--
Gossamer Threads Inc.
Quote Reply
Great, Thanks to both of you for your quick replies. Both bits of code worked perfect and helped me understand some more about the queries.

I am still looking for some good documentation about this but can not find any. Even book names would be helpful.

Thanks for the help!!

Quote Reply
Well i had to come back to this post after a month or 2 cause i came in to a problem while using "order by rand()" since the program is being installed on MySQL 3.22 and not 3.23.