Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Looking for Metasearch

Quote Reply
Looking for Metasearch
I too am looking for a metasearch engine, but the previous topic didn't help me much. I have looked at Chatalogica, but that's a little out of my price range. So is the CurryGuide engine. I just want a simple metasearch engine like Dogpile at a time for a good price, or possibly free. And if possible, I would like to add my own engines easily. I'm not an expert at PERL either. Can you people help me?

Thanks,
Skattle

[This message has been edited by skattle (edited July 26, 1999).]
Quote Reply
Re: Looking for Metasearch In reply to
Something like this http://pg13.hypermart.net ?

Pasha

------------------
find.virtualave.net
Quote Reply
Well, Pasha1, that's not exactly what I'm looking for. Just check out www.dogpile.com/ . That's the one I'm looking for. www.chatologica.com/ and services.curryguide.com/search_engine/ are good, but they're kinda expensive for me. I know CurryGuide can give away free engines, but they don't allow 468x60 ad banners, and that's what I need to put on too. Thanks, anyway.

[This message has been edited by skattle (edited July 27, 1999).]
Quote Reply
Hey the chatologica engine is a free script and it includes two search engine modules me and a friend are trying to develope a yahoo module, he has successfully gotten it to parse the results but not number and tell what search engine it is from correctly if you would like to help us please say so!
Vince Urmanski
Quote Reply
I thought Chatologica was a few hundred bucks or something like that! I'd be glad to help you, but I have no luck in Perl. I'd like to try though. Thanks a lot!
Quote Reply
Yea he had it at freeware when I downloaded it then he used the same version and now is charging 350 dollars so I lucked out and now he gives the modules away for free!! Sorry you didnt download it in time :-( He might let it go back to freeware I dont know
Vince Urmanski
Quote Reply

Quote: