Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Login and execute script on another box?

Quote Reply
Login and execute script on another box?
I am trying to write a Perl script that allows us to automate printer enable/disable and cancel jobs functionality. I have the code already done to get a status, ping and a job report on any printer.

I need some help with the code for an admin section as I'm still fairly new to Perl.

I have the login for the admin secure from some other code. I am unsure though how to write the code that would allow me to:

1) Login to remote Unix box

2) Run script with PRINTER name that is passed by user input.

3) Return information from remote box to host box on successful or not.

ie.

- Admin needs to kill a print job.

- Logs into the admin section of the code.

- Selects the printer (STL-001) and input the job (36589) to cancel.

- Login to the print server (remote machine) from the script.

- Issue the command to cancel the job (cancel STL-001-36589)

- Return and print the information from the remote machine command (SIL-001-36589: cancelled)

Can this be done? Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

We are running Solaris 9 and using perl, version 5.005_03 (for Oracle Apps 11i)

Thanks

Rich
Quote Reply
Re: [Kuberski] Login and execute script on another box? In reply to
I'm just wondering. Why use Perl to do this? 'C' would handle this a lot better, cos its designed to do the kinda thing you are attempting here Wink

Just wondering.

Cheers

Andy (mod)
andy@ultranerds.co.uk
Want to give me something back for my help? Please see my Amazon Wish List
GLinks ULTRA Package | GLinks ULTRA Package PRO
Links SQL Plugins | Website Design and SEO | UltraNerds | ULTRAGLobals Plugin | Pre-Made Template Sets | FREE GLinks Plugins!
Quote Reply
Re: [Andy] Login and execute script on another box? In reply to