Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Chit Chat :

My feeble home cinema.

Quote Reply
My feeble home cinema.
Ok so it's about time this happened. I've been a poor deprived student for too long so its time for me to take a step closer to my dream home cinema.

I got sky digital installed a few weeks ago and it's coming through a big, if not slightly old tv. Picture quality is good though.

Anyway I have had a pretty nice stereo system sitting in my bedroom getting dusty for ages, so last night I transferred it into the room with sky tv and today I went and bought a scart => phono cable and connected it up to the tv so I now have sourround sound goin down while I'm watching tv Wink

I just ordered a DVD player an hour ago too so that should be here next week.

The only bummer is I've run out of scart sockets so I need to buy an adapter which is about $50.

Oh well, I'm gonna rock the house down Smile
Quote Reply
Re: [Paul] My feeble home cinema. In reply to
Dude, isn't SCART supposed to be the UK equivilent to component video? If so, DO NOT downgrade your cable type! You'll lose a hell of a lot of quality. Get a source selector that supports SCART in/out's.

case in point:
I just imported a modified GameCube Digital A/V cable to plug my GameCube into my 19" flat CRT. The progressive scan and color is so unbelievable... I never knew what I was missing. With the standard 3-plug stereo RCA cable, my 25" TV was just full of color bleeding, warped edges, and lacked a general sense of cripsness. Unfortunately only 4 out my 7 games support progressive scan so I have to lug my GCN back to the livingroom to play BloodRayne, Resident Evil, or the oldschool Sonic the Hedgehog games.

Philip
------------------
Limecat is not pleased.
Quote Reply
Re: [fuzzy thoughts] My feeble home cinema. In reply to
I have no clue about these things.