Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Installation -- Unix :

error building select field: ...'Category'

Quote Reply
error building select field: ...'Category'
Ok, I am fairly new to CGI, but have installed more than 20 scripts, and have gotten them operational, even customized, so I have a basic understanding of the procedures fo getting CGI to work. However, I cannot get links to work!
I am getting an error when i go to add.cgi and try to add a link <error building select field: no select fields specified in config for field 'Category'!>. I also get an error when i try to build pages <CGI ERROR
==========================================
Error Message : Unable to copy links backup. Reason: Permission denied
Script Location : /home/httpd/cgi-bin/links/admin/nph-build.cgi
Perl Version : 5.00503

But when I use staggered Auto, it builds the page, but I STILL get the fisrt error that I mentioned.
I have checked all of my paths and permissions, and am almost sure they are correct. I know it's probably something small, but I am TOTALLY lost, can you please help me??
Thank you,
Renee

Quote Reply
Re: error building select field: ...'Category' In reply to
Uh...this has been discussed before MANY times. SEARCH this forum Unable to copy links backup!

Regards,

Eliot Lee
Quote Reply
Uh...I got the build to work properly, but that still doesn't fix the error problem in add.cgi. When a church member clicks on the add resource link to add their recipes, they get this error>>>>>Category: error building select field: no select fields specified in config for field 'Category'! for Choose Category. Can you PLEASE help me fix this?
Thanks,
Renee

Quote Reply
I know that everyone hre has a lot better things to do than to walk us through the installation of these scripts, and I am sorry for being a pain, but i really can't seem to solve this problem. I have been at this script for DAYS trying to figure it out, and i have gotten it all settled except for the following problems: