Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : DBMan : Customization :

Linking database elements on static web pages

Quote Reply
Linking database elements on static web pages
Hi,

I am trying to link database elements onto static web pages that I already have on my site. For example, where i have information on a topic i want things under that item to link from my database. sort of like having a price or code for a particular item. I have tried using the "List Records by Category v1.0 (Stand Alone - SSI)" add-on from the resources page. This does exactly what I want except it lists every item in the database. What I really want is to be able to specify 1 item. Does someone know how I can do this or has a script that i could use. Please note: I have very little knowledge of perl Frown.... PLEASE HELP!!!

Thanks in advance!
Quote Reply
Re: Linking database elements on static web pages In reply to
Well, I don't "do" SSI, but you can create a link to display just one record from a static page.

Your link should look like this:

Code:
"http://url/to/db.cgi?db=default&uid=default&KeyFieldName=KeyValueOfDesiredRecord&view_records=1"

Change the db=default part if your .cfg file is not called "default."

------------------
JPD

Quote Reply
Thanks for your help JPD but the only problem is that I only want 1 field to be displayed inside my static page. If I use this method it is giving me a link to go to the correct product page and lists all the fields. I just want the value of the one field to be displayed on the page. Is it possible to do this?? I tried using an <!--exec cgi="--> with the same command line you gave me but it just returns an error on my static page. Any other ideas?? Please help!

Thanks heaps,

Dave
Quote Reply
So you want to display the contents of one field of one record on a static page via SSI? Will it always be the same record and the same field?

------------------
JPD

Quote Reply