Gossamer Forum
Home : General : Perl Programming :

Yes, a new problem...

Quote Reply
Yes, a new problem...
Hello,

till recently i has 1 emailadres, where if you send an email to, you got an automated reply (.vacation function)

But now I need 2 emailadresses, and I only have 1 pop-box available,so my question is,
where can i find a good script that reads the To: field of the email,and depending of that reply's with an text and logt the emailadres.
So i can alsow make an automated subscribe@ and unsubscribe@ script!
Quote Reply
Re: Yes, a new problem... In reply to
Let me see, for the first part, this is not something PERL will do for you unless you forward your mail into a program and allow it to process the header information for you. I have no practical experience in designing such a program, but I am almost positive it exists.

Even if you did have such a program, you would still have to setup a way for the mail from the second account to be put into your primary account. By far, the easiest way to do this is to setup an email alias so that email is redirected to your pop box. You can then use your email program to simply redirect to a folder. You would have to have access to files on your system or have additional email aliasing setup for you by a UNIX admin on your server. Some do this for free, many do not.