Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

Links "Walkthrough"

Quote Reply
Links "Walkthrough"
Hi All
I'm new to Links. Is there an online article which provides a walkthrough with explanations on how the core files "interact"?

I've carefully read readme.txt as well as the comments in the various .cgi and other files, but due to my limited PERL knowledge I find it difficult to gain an overall bird-eye's view of how the different parts work together.

I've read through many threads in this and other Links forums, and learnt a lot in the process, but something akin to a program structure primer will be very beneficial in gaining a thorough understanding of how the program has been put together.

If anyone knows of any suitable (detailed) article, I'd really appreciate it if he/she could let me (and other Links eager beavers!) have the URL.

Many Thx!

Beaver
Quote Reply
Re: Links "Walkthrough" In reply to
Some LINKS users were working on this. But the project seems to have not been worked on in awhile.

Here is a quick and dirty tour:

Visitor Interactive Options

(ALL THESE FILES SHOULD BE STORED IN YOUR /CGI-BIN/LINKS/ DIRECTORY.)

1) Add Form (add.cgi)

* Allows people to add links to your directory.

2) Modify Form (modify.cgi)

* Allows people to modify submissions in your directory.

3) Search Form (search.cgi)

* Allows people to search your directory.

4) Hits (jump.cgi)

* When people click on links, the number of hits will be increased.

5) Rate Site (rate.cgi)

* Allows people to rate links in your directory.

6) Mailing List (subscribe.cgi)

* Allows people to sign up to receive a newsletter.

Configuration Files

(ALL THESE FILES CAN BE PLACED IN YOUR /CGI-BIN/LINKS/ADMIN/ DIRECTORY.)

1) site_html.pl

* Formats the HTML layout of non-Template pages in your directory.

2) site_html_templates.pl

* Formats the HTML layout of Template pages in your directory.

3) category.def