Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

Unexplained loss of data.

Quote Reply
Unexplained loss of data.
Hi all. I have a real problem on my hand which I hope I can explain to you. Let me make it clear, I am Not a Techie. I own my Sites and do some administration of them, but that's about my limit.

I have a 1999 version of Links 2 on my Site. It is used for 3 different purposes. For the last few weeks, I have been receiving 2 morning reports of updates for my Links 2 programs. The first one is always the File: Copy. The 2nd is Backup exists for today: Skipping. On that one, sometimes there is an error message sometimes not.

Now, those messages prompted me to check the programs. One of the things I discovered was that there were daily backups upon daily backups from when the programs were first added to my Site. I have since deleted 1.3GB from my Server. 2 of the programs, Hotel Ratings and Comments and Restaurant Ratings and Comments, while I have received error messages for them sporadically, are just fine. All the data is there and the programs seem to be working with no problems. The 3rd is the problem. While I have backups for it, it has steadily 'lost' data in the db file. It's lost darn near 2MB of data. Well, it's a Trip Report program, and some people write a Lot! :-)

So, my challenge is to replace the db files with the backups. I haven't a Clue as to how to go about doing this. Any help would be Greatly appreciated! Here are the Links to the programs:

www.cancunandrivieramaya.com/trips www.cancunandrivieramaya.com/hotels www.cancunandrivieramaya.com/restaurants

Saludos, Tim

Quote Reply
Re: [Cbeach1] Unexplained loss of data. In reply to
Well, if all you need to do is use a backup, just delete (rename and keep is safer) the current file, and copy the back up into that directory and rename it to match the original.