Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Links 2.0 : Discussions :

Newbie questions, willing to learn.

Quote Reply
Newbie questions, willing to learn.
Hi I'm a complete newbie to links 2 (and html/pearl coding) so please be patient with me, here are the questions:

1. I've been looking into links.db and it seems very logical build. can I edit directly in the file? or will it corrupt if I do that? (for example add links and modify links) (same for categories.db)and if i do edit that all changes be added to the site after I have press the build button?

2. If I want to display one link in multiple categories is that possible without adding an input in links.db? (or do I have to create extra fields where I can define extra categories)

Oh the site I'm making is:

http://www.fmplaza.nl

Thanks for reading.
Quote Reply
Re: [max sonnen] Newbie questions, willing to learn. In reply to
Your site looks great! I can't read a word of it, but oh well...

1. It is possible to add directly to the links.db, but when you use the admin panel, it will automatically add to the url.db and email.db files, also. The other thing you would need to keep up with is linksid.txt, which keeps up with the number of links you have (also done when using the admin add). Better to add through the admin, but it's quick and easy to edit existing entries directly in the .db file.

2. To have a link entered under multiple categories, use the altcat mod. There are several threads that discuss this mod, here is the original.

Once you have that mod installed (and working), here is a quick note on using it:

You can select more than one alt category by holding down the control key and clicking the alt cat. In the .db file, the separator between these multiple categories will be the ~~.

Leonard
aka PerlFlunkie
Quote Reply
Re: [PerlFlunkie] Newbie questions, willing to learn. In reply to
Ah great, thanks for the quick responce I think I get that (still trying to get the bulkload mod to work)