Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Mail : Discussion :

does the user have to provide his e-mail address

Quote Reply
does the user have to provide his e-mail address
i just installed Gmail and in order a person need to sign up he MUST provide his e-mail address.
personally i do not think it's necessary, is there away to make it optional

Quote Reply
Re: does the user have to provide his e-mail address In reply to
It IS necessary so the validation code can be sent to them!

However it poses the question about how they sign up if they don't have an existing email.

Paul Wilson.
http://www.wiredon.net/gt/
http://www.perlmad.com/
Quote Reply
In Reply To:
how they sign up if they don't have an existing email
that's why i think the validation is NOT necessary. it should be optional.
i do not know any free web based mail that ask for it.

alex: how about making it optional. it should not be hard but again i'm not a programmer

Quote Reply
Hi,

We designed it to be optional. The setup option isn't in place yet though. If an email address isn't required, then Lost Password lookup will use Question/Answer to validate the password.

Cheers,

Alex

--
Gossamer Threads Inc.
Quote Reply

I need to disable the compulsory to the field email in the Sing up. How can I doit?

Quote Reply
Re: [migues] does the user have to provide his e-mail address In reply to
Alex, I also want to know the answer to this question of this thread!!! Thanks!
Quote Reply
Re: [migues] does the user have to provide his e-mail address In reply to
Hello,

I disabled it removing the text field and insterting a hidden one with the name of email's text field.

You will also have to insert an email adress in the hidden value, so it would be good you delete the field e-mail in the profile page :-)

Narcís,

PD: My first post to Gossamer Forum! :-)

Quote Reply
Re: [algorithms] does the user have to provide his e-mail address In reply to
Hi,

You need to: