Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Version 1.x :

close the table after search?

Quote Reply
close the table after search?
hi,

I'm new to mysql, just wanna check out is there any where in search.cgi have close the tables when the search is done.

I am asking this is because my system admin told me that when the mysql open tables show up there is 700++ tables open, but the server have only 100++ requests being processed. Is this mean the search.cgi doesn't close the tables/connection properly?

please forgive my broken english, hope that you can understand my english. Smile

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Tan
Quote Reply
Re: close the table after search? In reply to
now i got an error below, is this scripts problem or mysql problem?:

Software error:
DBSQL (31864): Fatal Error: Unable to connect to the SQL server. Reason: Too many connections at /home/httpd/catcha.com.my/cgi-bin/l/jump.cgi line 65
Quote Reply
Having more tables open then you have tables is normal. See:

http://www.mysql.com/...nce.html#Open_tables

for more info. Are you running under mod_perl, fastcgi or some other environment like that? Links SQL only uses DBSQL.pm to make connections to the database, and it always closes the connection to the database when the script is finished.

Cheers,

Alex
Quote Reply
Whoah!!

I'm beating my MySQL to death with several databases and hundreds of tables, but I'm no where near those stats!

I have 67 open (107 open files) but 16,000 openED files.

You might want to check the MySQL site for some data on the system, but that sounds awefully high.

MySQL is in charge of opening/closing the tables, and it keeps a lot of stuff open for speed. Everything you do is just a database query, and MySQL determines how to handle it.

------------------
POSTCARDS.COM -- Everything Postcards on the Internet www.postcards.com
LinkSQL FAQ: www.postcards.com/FAQ/LinkSQL/

Quote Reply
it was 1380 right now, and keep increasing every second. Frown