Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Pre Sales :

Important Pre Sale Questions Part 1

Quote Reply
Important Pre Sale Questions Part 1
Hi all:

I have been tasked with starting a web portal for a particular industry (industry withheld). The concept is not new; we want to provide people who work in this industry links to companies and individuals who support it. I have researched different products and read throughout the Gossamer website and the forums and still feel I don’t have a good grasp on some of the following:
  1. A redundant question: I have considerable experience with HTML and this has been primarily in a WYSIWYG environment. I have no experience with cgi, perl or php. To set up and maintain a Links SQL site is this going to be a problem? Between cgi, perl and php which would you suggest I learn the most in order to be a more affective Links SQL administrator.

2. This site is intended as an income generator. As I have not been authorized the finances for the PPC module these question should center on the basic Links SQL product. We plan on offering our clients the following; basic listings (free), Top Spot listings, Highlighted listings, Sponsored Links, banner listings, etc.

• Top Spot Placement: I intend to sale the top spots for each category to clients where their links appear at the top of the list? Can this also be done per search, I.E. keywords, context sensitive? Perhaps the top five of each category will be for sale. Is this possible with Links SQL? With or without major modification?

• Highlighted Links: I also want to sale a placement or two that would be at the top of the search but perhaps separated by a line or something. These links would behave just as the regular Top Spots mentioned above but be highlighted (Different color, larger font?) Similar to the sponsored links that are atop of Google searches. Is this possible with Links SQL? With or without major modification?