Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Pre Sales :

LinksSQL + Ultra Package VS Customized PHP Links Script

LinksSQL + Ultra Package VS Customized PHP Links Script
Hello Everyone!

It's been a long time since I posted but I'm back with a HUGE dilemma.
I have used linksSQL and gForum on one of my major sites and links2 on two other sites. I am revamping the site with linksSQL and decided to move to a PHP solution because thus far, Perl products have seemed esoteric and more difficult to use than the PHP counterparts I have tried. For that reason, I have moved from gForum to vBulletin and to tell the truth, it is like ninght and day. As I have said many times here, I am not a programmer, although I think I have tackled PHP enough to have gleaned a rudimentary knowledge of how it works and when I need help, there is a vast community of PHP enthusiasts to pick from. I have found in the past that knowledgeable members of the GT community are often somewhat elitist - although I must say that Jack Ong has always been incredible and helpful whenever I have contacted him. After speaking with some of these guys I feel like a royal dufus and being a college instructor simply flies out the window! A perfect analogy is when English speakers assume that people who look a certain way need to be gestured at when spoken to and then it turns out that these people speak impeccable English. My point is that I do not like being made to feel like a nincompoop just because I do not know Perl.

I want to create a more professional directory with links from the open directory as well as links from my current directory. I have considered the ultra package from Ultranerds because it appears to have a lot of features.