Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

include_header doesn't work as expected

Quote Reply
include_header doesn't work as expected
hi

I have used the following code to enable these 2 links to appear on the web page in the menu bar after an Editor logs on. It works :-)

<%if Links::Utils::is_editor%><li><a href="<%config.build_root_url%>/Public_Blogs/<%category_name%>/index.html">My Public Blog</a></li><%endif%>
<%if Links::Utils::is_editor%><li><a href="<%config.db_cgi_url%>/browser.cgi">My Private Folder</a></li><%endif%>

But the problem is that when the editor clicks to another page. One that also includes the include_header snippet then these 2 links do NOT appear. :-(

Is there a way I can fix this so that once the Editor has signed in then any page they go to that has the include_header snippet i.e.

<%include include_header.html%>

- then these 2 links STILL still appear in the menu bar?

Please ask if I haven't made this clear. I am a newbie so any answer has to be quite simple ;-) Thanks.

Steve
Quote Reply
Re: [cuppa] include_header doesn't work as expected In reply to
Steve, just to check - is this site running in dynamic mode?
Quote Reply
Re: [aus_dave] include_header doesn't work as expected In reply to
Thanks Aus_Dave!

I see what you are getting at :-) If I click the link "dynamic" in the Admin Panel then when the Home page opens in a new window and I log on, then everything works just like i was wanting it too (see my post at the top of this page). All the URLs are in 'dynamic' mode too.

But here's the part i don't understand. As my visitors would arrive at the home page - which ends in >index.html - then when a user signs in - all the pages are static (i.e. not those dynamic URLs). How can I fix it so people arrive at a dynamic version of the web site?

I have read the links SQL manual and gone into Admin and selected "yes' for 'dynamic_pages' under Page Display and Sorting Options. Also "dynamic_preserve" shows > t,d,s