Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database?

Quote Reply
howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database?
Hello ALL,

Well i did a lot of 'hacks' in the past Links 2.0.
Now i am trying to understand Links SQL. Somehow i feel like a complete newbie 'again' :)....

Good here's my question:

Let's say i have added a few new fields in the links table:

field 30: advert with 3 enum value's empty/banner/special_link_text
field 31: bannerurl (value the url where the banner is located)
field 32: special_link_text (max. 80 characters of text)

Ok now i want this to happen with the category pages if i choose build all:

On top of the page it will first display banners, if there are any. Next it will display the special_link_text, if there are any. After that it will display the 'normal' links (where the links with banner/special_link_text will be displayed first).

Like this (category page):

BANNER
(graphics with url)

special_link_text
(like Gossamer-thread - the best solution for your portal)

LINKS with field advert, value banner or special_link_text, first
LINKS (rest)
(LINK with Name URL)

Ehm. I really haven't a clue where to start, maybe in Site_HTML.pm or isn't that smart to edit ? Because if there will be a update it will overwrite it?

Hope any can help me out, and understand what i mean :)

Regards Startpoint.
Quote Reply
Re: [startpoint] howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database? In reply to
Hallo all,

Well, after trying to understand the new SQLlinks and read a zillion threads i am a step closer to my solution :)

First i am trying to make the special_text_link work (then the banner will be easY:).

I did make a new global called special_text_link and make a call in category.html

Code global special_text_link:

sub {
# Show special_text_link