Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

Help needed with different form for different category

(Page 1 of 2)
> >
Quote Reply
Help needed with different form for different category
Hi, I am sure this can be done but I'm not experienced enough to know where to start.

Basically what I'm trying to do is on the include_form template. What I want is to display a different form depending on the category someone is adding into.

I have links set so that the user has to be in the specific category before placing an ad but what I want to do is tell links that if the category equals say 'business' to show one version of the include form but if it's any other category to show something else.

The thing is I have a lot of subcategories and I've tried <%if FatherID == X%> followed by the html and then an endif statement, followed by the alternative html but it only ever comes up with the alternative html not the one for that specific category.

Any help from anyone would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

Sal
Quote Reply
Re: [Sal2] Help needed with different form for different category In reply to
Try something like that in add.html:
<%if ID == 2%><%include include_form2.html%>
<%elsif ID == 8%><%include include_form8.html%>
<%elsif ID == 9%><%include include_form9.html%>
<%else%><%include include_form.html%>
<%endif%>

Note, that I didn't try out, but theoritically should work.

Best regards,
Webmaster33

Paid Support
from Webmaster33. Expert in Perl programming & Gossamer Threads applications. (click here for prices)
Webmaster33's products (upd.2004.09.26) | Private message | Contact me | Was my post helpful? Donate my help...
Quote Reply
Re: [webmaster33] Help needed with different form for different category In reply to
This works:

<%if ID=YOUR ID HERE%>
<%include include_form1.html%>
<%elsif ID=YOUR ID HERE%>
<%include include_form2.html%>
<%elsif ID=YOUR ID HERE%>
<%include include_form3.html%>
<%else%>
<%include include_form.html%>
<%endif%>