Gossamer Forum
Home : Products : Gossamer Links : Discussions :

howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database?

Quote Reply
howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database?
Hi all,
sorry for the dublicated subject, but is there a simple way to create banner/text link on the top of all categories?

Because I'm not a good programmer and I'm not sure what file to edit and what to create?

btw I'm using Links SQL 2.2.1

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: [rage] howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database? In reply to
The file you want to play with is category.html

Two ways to get to it:

In your admin console, click on Build, User Templates, then call it up from the dropdown list in the center of the page. Make your changes and hit Save, then rebuild your site.

Alternatively, you can download the file from cgi-bin/links/admin/templates/default, make the changes, then upload it to the local directory in default (this way, you'll always have a copy of the original template; i.e., don't upload the changed file over the original template in the default directory).
Quote Reply
Re: [agaffin] howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database? In reply to
I know where is category.html
but what I can change? to set banners on the top of every catecory?

Thanks
Quote Reply
Re: [rage] howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database? In reply to
How are you planning to show your banners? i.e. are you using any banner management software?
Do you have lots of different ones?
Are they the same for each category?
How are they named?

This is simple to do, but before we can walk you through it, you need to tell us a little more.....

Piers
Quote Reply
Re: [Piers1] howto add banner/textlink on the top off all category pages, based on a field in database? In reply to